The Will to Achieve

What drives us to be the people we are? What defines me? Who do I want to be for myself and others? These are questions that are crowding our thoughts in times of doubt, in times of hardships, and in times of success. Why is it difficult to understand ourselves when we should know our own ticks better than anyone? Maybe that’s because we’re still trying to figure that out. I have a gist of what I want my future to look like, but there are many obstacles I still have to overcome, and as such, there’s always time for improvement; we can always be better if we give ourselves the chance to do so.

“When you are able to maintain your own highest standards of integrity, regardless of what others may do, you are destined for greatness”

Napolean Hill

We all have our flaws, and it should be our own responsibility to acknowledge that they do exist, and it doesn’t make you any less of a person. In fact, one must uphold their values to be on the path of success. I value honesty within others, and it would be hypocritical of me if I don’t look for it in myself. Whether it be relationships or in one’s goals, being honest and true allows you to understand yourself. I think it’s essential that integrity is the first aspect I want to maintain, as it the root of everything else. For instance, I get frustrated when the outcome of a task does not align with my initial vision, which I think is reasonable; you strive for perfection, and anything not par is unacceptable. However, if I know I was honest with myself and my potential with everything I did, then I believe I can find success in everything I do. Additionally, integrity will allow you to be honest with yourself, so you can better understand your mistakes. Nothing we do is perfect, so acknowledging room for growth can lead us to a path of excellence where the next part of our lives is done better than before.

“You cannot dream yourself into a character; you must hammer and forge yourself one.”

Henry David Thoreau

Being honest with ourselves encourages us to take action against our mistakes, to forge a better version of ourselves with each flaw. We envision our future selves to be successful, which, most of the time, isn’t who we currently are. My parents have always reminded my siblings and I that whatever we do to the best of our abilities is something to be proud of, even if the results are not what we expected. The people who inspire us have overcome grueling obstacles they had in their life with determination. I want to be successful, whether I interpret it as attaining a certain career path or finding stability in my social life, which will require me to forge into the character I so deeply aspire to be. I think a person who is willing to put in hard work separates themselves into an entire league of their own. I’ve struggled with this, especially during this year and all the challenges we have to face, but I can’t let those hinder my progress, and as such, I have established certain routines to keep myself dedicated to the end goal. Achieving a goal is never easy, but it’s always rewarding when we struggle on that path and reach that goal. The hardwork and determination we experience makes us stronger, getting us closer to the people we want to become.

“Surround yourself with people who are going to lift you higher.

Oprah Winfrey

I rely on others to inspire myself to be better. Usually, it’s from friends or peers in my classes. Sometimes, it’s from characters in novels or films. Whatever the case,we all have our strengths, and we can all learn from each other, whether it be a small habit I implement into my life, or it’s a life lesson I learned from someone else. We are influenced by the people around us, as such, I actively try to surround myself with people who I know are there to help me be better. I am so very thankful that the people in my life who only want to see me grow, which in it of itself, gives me strength to keep going. However, it shouldn’t be a one way chain. I want to be there for others to rely on, giving someone else a boost to achieve their goals. Humanity is a community, we have connected ourselves to others. Those who inspire us had an amazing support team that believed in them which has gotten them to the position we look up to. We all have bad days; it’s the people around us who give us the strength to get back up again and we do the same for them. We rely on each other, and I wish to continue on this journey, but I will need others to help me forge along that path.

Acknowledgment of a desire to grow has encouraged me to do more and look beyond the surface of my abilities. I want to be someone who has left a mark in this world, maybe I’ll be a memory or I’ll have a material piece of remembrance. Either way, in order to leave a legacy, I have to be someone to myself and others to achieve that, which I will achieve by pushing myself forward.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

5 thoughts on “The Will to Achieve

  1. Dear Abeer,

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading your take and exploration on these three quotes! I love how you started this piece with three bold questions- questions I asked myself often during quarantine and now in my senior year. Your analysis of the second quote was excellent. I love that you found parallels from the quote, with experiences in your personal life. The advice your parent’s gave you and your siblings, is something I think everyone needs to hear once in their life. Often times our focus and pride can be solely derived from our grades, awards, and rankings; however, the act of pursuing something wholeheartedly has a much greater value.
    A possible improvement would be to go even more in depth with your personal experiences and tie it to the quotes. For example, for your first quote, you could specify on certain tasks and goals you have had in your past. Whether that be a certain grade in a class, or playing well in a soccer game, being more specific can allow the reader to understand your analysis even better.
    Overall, this piece was wonderful and I very much enjoyed reading it. The sincerity in your writing is beautiful to witness and I hope to read more of your work in the future.

    Sincerely,
    Jeanette

    • Dear Jeanette,
      Thank you for reading my piece; I question myself everyday and it’s relieving to know that other people think along the same lines as I do. This year was difficult but I’m sure we’ll notice the good in our lives as time progresses. I appreciate the feedback, I’ll definitely try to write in greater depth about my experiences in future pieces. I thank you again for taking the time out of your day to read and comment on my piece.
      Sincerely,
      Abeer

  2. Dear Abeer,

    Your piece, The Will to Achieve, was very thoughtful. I liked how you introduced your writing with a series of questions, which reflected your thoughts. The variation of sentences, punctuation, and word choice were all purposefully included and well done. I loved how inspirational your quotes were and how you explained when you felt you needed to apply your life quotes. When I read this piece, I felt inspired by your writing and loved your last sentence as I can relate to it, but I equally found it very powerful. Altogether, I loved the flow of your writing and the general aesthetic of your blog post.

    In the future, I would recommend adding more specific examples to your personal connection, like what your goals are and when and what obstacles you have faced that have caused you to adopt these ideas. This can help better explain how it connects to you and makes it more personal. Also, I would recommend discluding the word bibliography as a part of your list of bullet points as it is more of a title than a point itself.

    Overall, I loved reading your writing and was moved by it. I think you are an amazing writer and look forward to reading your writing in the future.

    Sincerely,
    Prabhleen

    • Dear Prabhleen,
      Thank you for taking time out of your day to read and comment on my piece. I appreciate the feedback you gave me; I have difficulty in expressing my inner thoughts, experiences, and ambitions. I don’t particularly like sharing the struggles I’ve had to overcome but I understand what you’re saying; I’ll try to incorporate ideas to better develop a personal connection. Thanks again for reading my blog, I greatly appreciate it!
      Sincerely,
      Abeer

  3. Dear Abeer,

    I really enjoyed reading your piece. I really loved how you started it with the questions, it really helped to grab my attention. I really liked that you included your parent’s advice. It really helps give your writing a personal touch. Also, I love the general layout and visuals, you can tell a lot of thought was put into it all. Personally, the only way I could see this being improved is through the use of more personal examples. That way your writing seems more personal, and it will help you be able to analyze the quotes into real life even better. I really enjoyed reading this, and hope to read more from you in the future.
    Sincerely,
    Navleen Sekhon

Leave a Reply