False Failure

I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.

https://due.com/blog/thomas-edison-10000-ways-that-wont-work/#:~:text=%E2%80%9CI%20have%20not%20failed.,that%20won’t%20work.%E2%80%9D&text=Edison%20was%20famous%20for%20never,of%20the%20electric%20light%20bulb.

This quote was said by Thomas Edison, and to me, it says that that failure does not exist. No one can fail, they only find ways that do not work, and everyone has found unsuccessful methods for something. This is true for almost every aspect in life, whether it is in academics or in social situations.

People often get discouraged when they believe they fail, sometimes getting pushed away from something completely. I know people who get discouraged easily, and they are afraid of trying new things due to the possibility of not succeeding.

I have experienced this often in my own life. I enjoy creating things, and often they do not work properly on the first try, making me have to find what went wrong and fix it. I’ve also experienced this with studying for tests, if I get a question wrong that I studied for, I revise the way I study the topic for the next test. It does get frustrating at times, especially when it is something that has already taken some time to do.

You never fail until you stop trying.

https://www.goodreads.com/quotes/118182-you-never-fail-until-you-stop-trying#:~:text=Quote%20by%20Albert%20Einstein%3A%20%E2%80%9CYou,fail%20until%20you%20stop%20trying.%E2%80%9D

As this quote by Albert Einstein shows, true failure only comes once you no longer try. Some people often give up when they face what they perceive to be failure, even if they may be good at it with a little more effort and motivation, such as Jing-mei in “Two Kinds”.

Personally, I try not to give up easily. If I can, I will sometimes take a break from something as sometimes leaving and returning to something can give a new perspective on it, often leading to new ideas and solutions. This allows me to complete or even do better on a task than I would have otherwise.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

4 thoughts on “False Failure

  1. Dear Cameron,

    Your blog post was well composed and the images were complementary with your ideas. I like how you portray failure as a choice one makes and how it is only present when one gives up.

    In the future you could align all of your pictures the same way and add all of your citations on the bottom as this just makes it look a bit better.

    All-in-all this was a great piece that depicts how you view failure and how this perspective allows you to obtain the high level of success that you do. I look forward to seeing your future works.

    All the best,
    Aarti C.

  2. Dear Cameron,

    I really like the way you related quotes with knowledge and experiences in life. The way you connected the statement towards the concept of trial and error is very intriguing. The connection to a poem we learned in class (two kinds) clearly shows how versatile your knowledge is in ELA.

    Your sentence structure can improve for example, “I enjoy creating things, and often they do not work properly on the first try, making me have to find what went wrong and fix it.” doing a quick proofread after u finish your writing would be very beneficial. I hope you become more specific in your writing as the lack of detail clearly doesn’t reflect the message you are trying to get across.

    Overall are I really liked how your quotes and message are related to overcoming and persevering. With a little bit more work I think you have great potential in your writing. Make sure you keep up the good work!

    Joel.

    • Thank you for your feedback, Joel, I´ll keep it in mind for next time. I will continue working to improve my writing and make my next blog better.

      Cameron

Leave a Reply